The inaugural meeting brought in over 50 Ceylonese into the Permanent Mission office at 630 3rd Ave... Both Ambassadors Shirley Amerasinghe and Yogasunderam were there initially. However Ceylon’s High Commissioner to Canada his Excellency William Silva attended the meeting.  Raju Coomaraswamy took the Chair as Convener and was later unanimously elected Pro-term Chairman.

The draft constitution and by –laws were adopted with minor changes.

The first group of office bearers were elected.

President:                      Dudley Madawela
Vice President:               Lawrence Gunetilleke
Secretary:                      Ranjith Swaris
Treasurer:                      Jehan Rahim
Committee:                    Ms. Phyllis Perera, Vijihta Fernando, Edward Benedict,                                       Dayantha  De Silva, Dennis Guttsman, Dr. Gregory                                      Sathananthan and Dr.Dunstan Pulle.

Auditors:                        Leslie Gunerantne and Robert Job.

--------- Under Construction --------